Community Service Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Library Trust Seeks Nominees for Community Service Award 

The Seekonk Library Trust is seeking nominees for the Sharon St. Hilaire Community Service Award. The Seekonk Library Trust created the award as a way to recognize long and distinguished service to the Town of Seekonk by a public employee or community volunteer.

The award is named for its first recipient, Sharon St. Hilaire, who served as Director of the Seekonk Public Library for thirty-four years. In addition to her library service, Ms. St. Hilaire played a prominent role in the development of the Seekonk Meadows, a recreation area that was created on the site of a closed landfill. Ms. St. Hilaire accepted the award at a ceremony in August 2011, which appropriately was held at a library sponsored concert on the Seekonk Meadows.

The Library Trust is an independent charitable organization that was created to raise funds for Seekonk Public Library programs and capital needs. The Board of Trustees for the Library Trust will review the nominations and announce its decision this summer. The nomination form may be obtained at the Seekonk Public Library or on the library’s website at The deadline for submitting nominations is Wednesday, May 15, 2013. The forms should be submitted to the attention of Peter Fuller at the Seekonk Public Library, 410 Newman Avenue in Seekonk, MA.

Comments are closed